Decadent Mocha Eclairs

I try to recreate at least one recipe from each food magazine I receive monthly…as long as something catches my eye! November’s Chatelaine Magazine had a super tasty looking Decadent Mocha Éclair recipe and omg were they ever decadent! I tried my best to get some cool looking pics of these tasty desserts but keep in mind I have an (almost) 2 year old running around my crammed condo and well..you know, I try my best! This recipe was super easy and let me tell you..SUPER TASTY!! I have shared the link to the recipe below, pictures and some tips on my journey to recreating them.

Decadent Mocha Eclairs Recipe (click on the link below)

http://www.chatelaine.com/recipe/desserts/decadent-mocha-eclairs/

IMG_3711
Step 2 after stirring flour in mixture.
IMG_3712
Step 2 after stirring in eggs to prepare for pastry bag.
The Eclairs all baked up.
The Eclairs all baked up.
Slicing the eclairs in half to make way for the mocha filling.
Slicing the eclairs in half to make way for the mocha filling.
Piping the mocha cream on each eclair & spooning the chocolate on top.
Piping the mocha cream on each eclair & spooning the chocolate on top.
Eclairs all done!
Eclairs all done!

Tips: When piping the eclairs, make sure you make them wide enough. I piped them to be about 1inch in width post baking. (sorry I can’t remember what the width was pre-baking)..probably half that. The problem is, if you pipe them too thin as I did, when you pipe the mocha cream on each bottom half of the eclair, it will topple over as the cream will be too heavy for it. Because of this, I was not able to pipe as much as I was supposed to and threw out a lot of the cream. (ok maybe I piped some into my mouth..shhhh!)

Tip #2: In step number 4, at the very end where it says to spoon the melted chocolate over the eclairs…make sure you save some of that chocolate you microwaved.  I made the mistake of putting all the chocolate in the mocha cream! Opps…

NOTE: I prefer to fill eclairs traditionally by poking them and squeezing the filling inside. I liked that this recipe was different and the cream swirls were so visually appealing but I found eating them kinda messy and the mocha would squish out of the sides.

All in all, these were super tasty. You don’t know the mistakes you will make unless you make them! If I were to make them again I am confident they would come out perfect. Everyone that tried them loved them. Its a recipe keeper!

I receive Chatelaine magazine monthly through my Rogers account and I pay $1.50/month.  You can also get a subscription on their website for $14.99/year. http://www.chatelaine.com.

Leave a comment